Jun 09, 2023  
2019-2020 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2019-2020 Undergraduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Communication

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges & Departments

Scott Welsh, Interim Chair
Nina-Jo Moore, Assistant Chair


Full Faculty Listing  

The objectives of the Department of Communication are to prepare those interested in entering specific communication professions such as electronic media/broadcasting, journalism, advertising, interpersonal/intercultural/health communication, organizational consulting or training and public relations; to provide a broad background of information and develop skills needed by those students planning to enter other areas such as law, ministry, public service and graduate studies; and to provide the University and community the stimulation of debates and discussions of current issues, and the informative and entertaining programs of radio and television.

The Department of Communication offers courses in the areas of advertising, communication studies, electronic media/broadcasting, journalism, and public relations. The department also supports co-curricular programs including competitive intercollegiate forensics, the Appalachian radio station (WASU) and TV station (App TV), along with various community experiences in journalism, public relations and advertising. The department actively supports student organizations and national honorary societies that are related to communication such as the Forensics Union, Pi Kappa Delta, National Broadcasting Society, Alpha Epsilon Rho, Lambda Pi Eta Communication Honor Society, Appalachian Communicators Club, Advertising Club, the Public Relations Student Society of America and the Society of Professional Journalists. Communication majors are expected to participate in the co-curricular activities of the department.

Admission to the Department of Communication-Advertising, Communication Studies, Journalism, Public Relations

The Department of Communication seeks to admit students who are dedicated to pursuing degrees in the varied fields of communication. A cumulative GPA of 2.5 based on earned semester hours at Appalachian is required prior to declaring the following degrees:

Bachelor of Science degree in Communication, Advertising 
Bachelor of Science degree in Communication Studies 
Bachelor of Science degree in Communication, Journalism 
Bachelor of Science degree in Communication, Public Relations 

Transfer students may be allowed to declare these majors prior to earning 12 semester hours at Appalachian if they have earned a 2.5 cumulative GPA on coursework completed prior to entering Appalachian.

Admission to the Department of Communication-Electronic Media/Broadcasting

Due to resource issues related to the EM/B major, the Department places a restriction on the number of students the Department can serve. For this reason, applicants who have met all current University requirements for the declaration of a major wiII be considered for admission into the Bachelor of Science degree in Communication, Electronic Media/Broadcasting no later than February for the following fall semester, or no later than September 15 for the following spring semester. Declaration of a major begins the process of applying for admission but is not the same as admittance into the Department. If more students apply for admission than resources can accommodate, selections for the EM/B major will be made based on overall GPA and grade in COM 1200 . In the event of a tie, the selection committee will ask students to submit a writing sample.

Honors Program in Communication

The Department of Communication offers a 9 semester hour honors program composed of 6 semester hours of Communication honors courses and a 3 semester hour Communication honors thesis. To graduate with “Honors in Communication,” a student must be a Communication major, maintain an overall GPA of 3.45 and maintain an overall Communication GPA of 3.45, and earn a grade of no less than a “B” (3.0) in any honors designated courses.


    Bachelor of ScienceMinor


      CommunicationPage: 1 | 2

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges & Departments