Jun 14, 2024  
2020-2021 Graduate Bulletin 
2020-2021 Graduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

College of Arts and Sciences

Neva Specht, Dean
Michael Madritch, Associate Dean
Mark Bradbury, Associate Dean


The College of Arts & Sciences at Appalachian State University is home to 16 academic departments, one academic program, two centers, and one residential college spanning the humanities and the social, mathematical and natural sciences. The college is dedicated to providing instruction and research essential to the University’s mission and seeks to cultivate the habits of inquiry, learning and service among all its constituents.

Dual Degree Enrollment

Qualified students may pursue two master’s degree programs simultaneously. Students interested in pursuing a dual degree must meet all admission, thesis, proficiency, candidacy, comprehensive, and product of learning requirements for both programs.

The departments of Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, and Psychology within the College of Arts and Sciences offer the following dual degree programs:

In addition to the programs above, the departments of Government and Justice Studies, Physics and Astronomy, and Psychology have partnered with the departments of Sustainable Technology and Built Environment in the College of Fine and Applied Arts and the Walker College of Business Graduate Programs and department of Management to offer the following dual degree programs: